Teaching since Fall 2001 – 3rd year in 2nd grade

Daily 5 Chapter 1

1. How do I teach these behaviors –

Our scope and sequence for the district actually has Introduce Reading and Writing Workshops for 15 days at the beginning of the year.  We are encouraged to model, practice, and correct repeatedly the first weeks of school. Our principal feels this saves us much more time during the school year.  So this isn’t going to be a problem.

2. How do I teach these expectations

Again modeling, practicing, monitoring, and correcting problem

3. How do I monitor student behavior?

I am worried about students helping monitor each other. Our students have problems with being corrected. I am going to have to model how to ask people to stop doing things, and how to respond to such request often all year long.

4. What do I do when a child is not exhibiting the desired behavior?

I like the idea of having the children model the correct behavior during recess. We do that will walking in SSS lines. Why not do it with other behaviors.

5. Who’s classroom is it?

Our classroom. I’ve always felt that way. I was in authoritarian classrooms as a kid and was never safe because the bullies were favorites of the dictator teacher. I was safe in more democratic classrooms because the teacher listened.

6. Locus of control

I will continue to use a treasure box. I don’t see it as harmful to the kids. It is something we do at the end of the day to celebrate a good day.  In general I like to reward good behavior with more freedom and responsibility. I never like the whole class goes to the bathroom at the same time thing. This was a time I was bullied. I let the kids go the restroom as needed, unless I’m directly teaching. I do have them sign out and only one boy and one girl can be gone at a time.  The sign out is a small white board slate at the door. That way I can grab it during fire drills and the like.

7. Where will supplies be stored?

I start with supplies out for the students. If something is abused the class loses it for a  short period of time.

My own thoughts.
I love the schedule. I always have a problem with workstation fatigue. I like the idea of many lesson – rotation – mini lesson – rotation
Reading

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

