Teaching since Fall 2001 – 3rd year in 2nd grade

I admit it I got sucked in

English: teacher and its importance

Image via Wikipedia

The teachers at school are really into pinterest.com. At first the things they were sharing were cute craft type projects. I nodded and said they were cute, but wasn’t really interested in doing any of the projects. I’ve said before I don’t do cute.

I was never that type of creative.  My cousins on Dad’s side are. The oldest makes some of the most fantastic clothes, the middle cousin used to make little figures from rocks, and the youngest did a bunch of different type things – the one that impressed me the most was making her own paints.  I admired their projects, but never was interested in doing my own.

In the last few weeks the other teachers started sharing some lessons they had found on pinterest.  Those were pretty cool. I got on and found some cool lessons. I also found a whole different side to teachers and “sharing”.  I’ve always enjoyed my PLC and the ideas we shared. Some just put things out there. Others put Creative Commons Licences on things, more to say go share this than to protect their copyright. All of us gave away ideas.

What a ran into on pinterest was a horse of a different color. Teachers were selling ideas. Seems a bit mercenary to me. Also made me think.  I haven’t been sharing as much as I should. I’m going to put out at least a couple of lesson plans a week with any print outs, flipbooks, and other resources. I hope people find them useful.

English: Red Pinterest logo

Image via Wikipedia

Enhanced by Zemanta
Comments on: "I admit it I got sucked in" (2)

  1. There are a ton of Lamar teachers on there that post stuff. You can follow according to category. Some good people to follow that pin good education stuff: Heather Patterson, Bonnie Kocurek, Jennifer Wagner, and I know there are more. (But the last 2 are second grade.)

    • Thanks, October. I found them. I’m so used to the generosity of the teachers of LCISD, that the idea of selling lesson plans/hand outs threw me for a loop.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

