Teaching since Fall 2001 – 3rd year in 2nd grade

Monday,  I went to the gym. I was on the treadmill, reading Public Parts by Jeff Jarvis. In the back of my mind, I was also thinking about what photograph I would take for my 365 day photograph project.  This passage struck me –

In the discussion, a man in the crowd said he didn’t like seeing his picture included in crowd shots that other people in the room were posting to the net. That man said he hadn’t given permission. If he got his way, I said, everyone else in the room would be prevented from taking and sharing pictures of the event. Would his prohibition next extend to what people said and heard and wanted to share? That impinges on the free-speech rights of everyone else. The ability of people outside the room to follow what was happening there—and comment on it, challenging me, adding ideas and information—would also be restricted. The public record of the event would be limited. The publicness of this event was an asset, and if that man succeeded in preventing others from sharing what happened there he would have robbed us all.
Jarvis, Jeff (2011-09-27). Public Parts (p. 29). Simon & Schuster, Inc.. Kindle Edition.

I was thinking that a picture of the Kindle on the book stand of the treadmill would have been a great picture for the 365 project. Except of course you can’t take pictures of anything in the gym. I ended up making this at home.
work out tools
Later in the week my students discovered ladybugs in the clover around the track. I got some great pictures of them admiring the ladybugs.  I’m going to have them write a blog post for their blog next week.  As I was taking pictures, I made a point of getting pictures of  the kids but also pictures of just their hands with the lady bugs. There were a couple of kids from other 2nd graders in the group. My kids have permission to blog, the other classes aren’t blogging.

lady bug 2

That made me think of several debates on posting kids pictures I’ve watched on a couple of different communities. The issue is always Internet Parent takes pictures of  his/her kids, but some other child is in the picture. The parent of the extra child throws an ever loving fit about how now their child is in danger from the boogie man.  It has always struck me as strange. I’m always taking pictures at events for my niece and nephew.  Every one of the  parents asks me – “You are posting those to Facebook right, I would love copies.” In a couple of cases they had NO idea who I was – they asked which child was mind. I explained, after they asked me to post the pictures, that I was Aunt Kimbee. The parents of my niece and nephew’s friends, friend me to get the photographs.

We are getting to the point where posting on line is the norm, and not doing it is unusual.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

