Teaching since Fall 2001 – 3rd year in 2nd grade

Voicethread and iPads

Tried Voicethread for the first time with my 2nd graders this week. Monday I could only get one iPad at a time to log in and be able to comment. It was frustrating. I emailed Voicethread’s support. They confirmed that I should be able to have more than one iPad logged in at a time. They suggested it might be a Bandwidth issue on my side.

I am on a dedicated iPad wireless network at school and I’m the only one really using iPads this way on my campus. Tuesday everything worked fine.

I set up identities for each student. Next week they are going to make their own icons to use on the service. Each child is going to get a 8.5 x 11 sheet of paper. They will decorate it with their character traits using words or illustrations. They will be unique. Since theses are second graders I want to be careful with their pictures.

Next challenge – having the kids use the iPads to blog.

Comments on: "Voicethread and iPads" (1)

  1. martinteacher said:

    Actually, we use the iPads over here, but we are not able to use iPads on wireless in the portables. It has something to do with our tech department signing up for more iPad slots.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

