Teaching since Fall 2001 – 3rd year in 2nd grade

Southwestern University is home to the Pirates.

Image via Wikipedia

Why are you so into tech? What is wrong with pencil and paper? I get those questions occasionally.  The answer is because “tech” helps me get around the glitch in my brain.

I’m dysgraphic. In addition to that I have a skin condition that means my skin can fissure making it impossible to hold a pencil without bleeding on the paper. I struggled from  k – 12. I would work so hard to write something , only to be told I was being lazy and not living up to my potential. I remember one teacher telling me I couldn’t use “big” words when speaking if I couldn’t spell them correctly. It wasn’t until I turned in a essay test at Southwestern University that was in complete mirror image that I was tested and diagnosed.

That was freeing. There was a reason for everything. I started using word processors and learned to spell words. No I don’t mean I let spell check correct the words. I would let it mark words that were incorrect. Then  I would try different spellings. When I figured out the correct spelling. I would type it 10 times, instead of writing it 10 times. I would actually learn to spell the word. My professors were great and worked with me as I learned to manage the dysgraphia.

My first laptop – that was a huge step forward. Now I didn’t have to tape lectures, go home and transcribe notes. Instead I could take notes in class. It is rare to see me without my laptop. Now I see coworkers taking notes on their Ipads. I’ve tried it. It is ok, especially with evernote. I still prefer my laptop for a few reasons

  • Tactile I can find the J and F keys by touch. When typing on the ipad I have to look down. I can look at the speaker  with my laptop.
  • Screen settings. I have more control over screen settings on my laptop. I find the ipad screen stresses my eyes and aggravates my dyslexia.
  • Multitaking – If the workshop is a really good workshop – I usually have a lesson plan open and am making notes on how to integrate the information from the workshop into the lesson.
Enhanced by Zemanta
Comments on: "I would rather lose my glasses" (5)

  1. A great post that teachers really need to read! So important to see how our tools can be so important in helping our students succeed! I do challenge you to typing without looking on the iPad…I do it all the time, but I’m kind of a hover typing freak! 🙂

  2. THANK YOU! I will post this in my entrance at my school, so my teachers can see first hand what I mean by “needing” technology. With your permission, of course!

  3. I would love to post this on my blog!

  4. My brother-in-law teaches tech and two of my daughters are doing student teaching this fall. We are always looking for good teaching sites. Thanks for stopping by my blog. We will be back!
    Sandy

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

