Teaching since Fall 2001 – 3rd year in 2nd grade

Success

A Wheelock MT-24-LSM electronic fire alarm hor...
Image via Wikipedia

A couple of weeks ago we had a red drill (lock down). 10 minutes after it was over, I had a lab full of kids from 15 in my class and 20 from 3 grades and 7 classrooms. I realized that if they had been there during the drill there was no easy way to account for them. We started a sign in sheet the next day. It is very simple

Out Name 3rd grade 4th grade 5th grade
List of teachers List of Teachers List of teachers

The kids sign in circle their teacher’s name, get on a computer and take care of what they need to do. It paid off today. 2nd period I have 15 1st graders in for Tech, and several 3rd graders working on Successmaker. The fire alarm went off. I grabbed the clipboard and my Fire Drill folder and we walked out. On the black top, I handed the AP my sign in sheet – those students had already been reported out of the room by their teacher. They were quickly accounted for. The AP was very happy.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

