Teaching since Fall 2001 – 3rd year in 2nd grade

1) How does Bell Work help to define the classroom as a work environment while eliminating the time wasted by “settling in?” (pages 117-119)

Bell work helps define the classroom as a work environment because there is no time for goofing around or playing if students have to complete an assignment when they come into the classroom. By having something to work on immediately that has academic value you’ve regained those minutes that are lost during transition. My problem is because of the way our schedule works I am not in the room. I’m going to have to depend on classroom teachers to start the bell work, while I’m running back from dropping off kids at the cafeteria bathrooms. Honestly I think third, fourth, and fifth grades will take care themselves with the Moodle being used to start the lesson. I’m still struggling about what to do with kindergarten, first, and second grades.

2) What icebreaker will you use during the first class period of next semester? (pages 120-121)

I will not used in any icebreaker during the first class period of next semester. I completely disagree with author on this issue. I hate icebreakers with a passion and find them time wasting and embarrassing.

3) In order to act like a teacher, you have to think like a teacher. Teaching embodies the following two timeless truths:

• I say what I mean, and I mean what I say.

• We are going to keep doing this until we get it right.

How are these two timeless truths embodied in your mindset and in your procedures while teaching a classroom routine?

While I will be changing a few things next semester, my students generally know my routines on the first day. We’ve been doing this for two years now. My biggest problem with we’re going to keep doing this until we get it right is that it has a domino effect on my schedule. The teacher who is waiting for me to get back to my classroom to take their class has their conference period shortened, they feel resentful, and are late picking up their kids after class.

4) In teaching routines, it is easier to have high standards than to have low standards. How does practice, practice, practice isolate the “goof offs” while getting the rest of the group to support you in establishing high standards? (pages 126-130)

Practice, practice, practice is boring. Students will pressure the goof office to behave themselves so they can move on with something more and arresting. To I can see where certain combinations of kids would not respond to this technique. Last year’s fifth graders for example, would endure practice, practice, practice and if it meant getting out of class work. The only time they would put pressure on people to behave themselves is if it was costing them lunch are recess. They know we can take lunch away from them.

5) How do you plan to organize chores in you classroom? (pages 131-133)

Organizing chores in my classroom is not an issue due to teaching technology. With students leave they put their own mice and headphones and the proper position pushing their chairs and walk out the door. In getting ready for morning announcements there are many chores. I cannot assign these to individuals students due to students arriving in different orders on different days. This all happens before school so this is a big issue. Instead I make a list of all the chores it be to be done: setting up the anchor desk in shares, checking camera settings, filling in changeable parts of cue cards, doing a sound check, getting out birthdays, and many other things. The west is posted an on the wall. Students put a green check next to a chore when they began it and a ride check when they’re done. This way students can see what is being done in what still needs to be completed. I also leave a space at the bottom for chores a day to be done in the computer lap. Like adding a URL to the I-tunes Podfeed and. Students could help me with this after were already for announcements.

The only things it to be assigned to specific people are rehearsing the changeable parts of the script including two day in history to make sure everything is pronounced correctly, and the pledge leader going to pick up the students and that will be leading us and the pledge.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

