Teaching since Fall 2001 – 3rd year in 2nd grade

  1. How many helpless handraisers do you have in your class? Are they the same students every day? How much of your time do they consume?

    Honestly out of last year’s kids, I can only think of one – Mrs. T’s “special child”. She really didn’t want to learn technology. With the other students the – ask your neighbor then ask me – technique worked well. The kids generally enjoy showing they can do something on the computers, and there is peer pressure to learn to do it yourself. I encouraged the younger grades to only help 2 people – then the 3rd person that asks them is referred to one of the people the student helped earlier.

    I can think of several times when I showed 2 or 3 kids how to do something – and it spread virally through not just the room but the whole grade level. For example changing their icon in Moodle. I showed a couple of 5 graders in Mrs. S’s class how to do it. 2 days later kids I haven’t seen since first introducing Moodle, are showing each other how to change their icons.

  2. What forms of dependency and “clingyness” other than handraising do you observe in your classroom?

    Some students initially want constant reassurance that they aren’t going to break a computer, camera, or Flip. I reassure them that the delete and undo/redo buttons are our friends. With the younger kids, I let them know that as long as they are following the safety rules, they aren’t going to get in trouble because the computer has a problem.

    With the older kids, I add in no hacking or using tech to harass a fellow student. The funniest thing last year was a poor 5th grader, who called me over swearing he hadn’t done anything but that the computer was hacked. It was typing by itself. Then it started typing what he was saying to me. A kindergartener the class before had turned on dictation.

    3) What are the limitations of long-term auditory memory that would govern the duration of corrective feedback? (pages 52-54)

    If students are already frustrated they are not going to be able to process the instructions beyond getting past their current block.

    4) Why do we always tend to find the error when looking at other people’s work? (Pages 54-55)

    Our brain highlights things that break the pattern.

    5) Why do people tend to get defensive when they are given corrective feedback? Have you observed this outside of your classroom? Have you experienced it? When? (pages 55-57)

    We feel we are being attacked. Growing up I always felt attacked when someone corrected my spelling. I also felt like I was a fraud because I had a high reading level but couldn’t spell basic sight words. Moving to a computer in the late 80’s was such a relief. That little red line wasn’t judgmental. I stopped using the suggestions spell check gives and instead worked on spelling the word correctly. It took several tries, but slowly I learned to spell those 1st grade site words. I still have problems with restaurant – maybe not got it right the first time that time. I guess I’ll have to move on to another glitch word to learn.

    6) Describe Praise, Prompt and Leave beginning with the relaxing breath. (pages 57-59)

    Take a deep breath, tell them what they have done correctly, prompt them with the next step, and walk away.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

